ARMANDO GALLO


ARMANDO GALLO

Armando Gallo debuted as photo journalist in 1967 interviewing the Beatles for the Italian magazine “Big”. Inspired by this experience, he dropped his dreams of a career as an architectural designer to move to London as correspondent for another Italian rock weekly “Ciao 2001″. In 1978 Sedgwick & Jackson published his first major book on Genesis, entitled The Evolution of a Rock Band. The book is the first extended history of the band’s early days which has never been covered by any other biographical source. Two years later, after moving to Los Angeles, Armando redesigned and self-published the book as Genesis – I Know What I Like via his own company DIY Books. In 1986 he published a book on Genesis’ founding member and frontman Peter Gabriel upon the release of Peter’s historic So album. To this day both books are among the most widely sought after memorabilia for fans of both Genesis and Gabriel.Recently Armando’s new company, ARGA Images, launched a partnership with Zentric from Buenos Aires and together they produced a ground breaking app of the 1980 book. Genesis - I Know What I Like has just been released as an app for the iPad, following their first app production, Peter Gabriel - So 25th anniversary, released in February 2014. Both apps are available on the Apple App Store.

Armando has photographed all of music greats, including Bob Marley, Led Zeppelin, Paul McCartney, Frank Zappa, U2, Pink Floyd, David Bowie, Lou Reed, R.E.M., The Who, Queen and many more. His photos appear on the album covers of GenesisSeconds Out, Peter Gabriels Play Live, Vasco Rossi’s Canzoni per me, Zucchero’s Fly and many more. He also directed and produced the Even Better Than The Real Thing video for U2’s Achtung Baby video collection.

 Armando has also been a member of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association since 1978 and as such a voting member for the Golden Globes. His photographs of Hollywood stars can be currently seen in magazines throughout the world and have graced many international magazine covers. He’s been the recipient of several awards, among them two Telegattos and “Hitweek”’s “Travelling Heart”.

Galleries by ARMANDO GALLO (1)

Latest additions to our collection
Popular photos and artists

news

GOODBYE MICK ROCK 22/11/2021

GOODBYE MICK ROCK

Another hero of ours has gone. Described as 2the Man who shot the Seventies", Mick Rock created some of t ...

more
HAPPY 80TH BIRTHDAY BOB DYLAN 24/05/2021

HAPPY 80TH BIRTHDAY BOB DYLAN

Bob Dylan turns 80! Another huge achievement for one of the most charismatic and elusive artists of all t ...

more
JIM MARSHALL EXCLUSIVELY REPRESENTED IN ITALY BY WALL OF SOUND GALLERY! 26/11/2020

JIM MARSHALL EXCLUSIVELY REPRESENTED IN ITALY BY WALL OF SOUND GALLERY!

It’s with great pleasure that we announce the exclusive representati ...

more

With a little help from our friends: